Meet the 10 Most Powerful Women in the World

by Angela Nazworth | August 24, 2012 10:05 am

Meet the 10 Most Powerful Women in the World

Sheryl Sandberg Meet the 10 Most Powerful Women in the World [1]Heads of state, philanthropists, journalists, celebrity powerhouses and CEOs of large corporations make up Forbes‘ annual list of The World’s 100 Most Powerful Women[2].

Out of the 27 CEOs on the list, seven of them are relatively new chiefs[3]: Yahoo‘s (NASDAQ:YHOO[4]) Marissa Mayer, Avon‘s (NYSE:AVP[5]) Sheri McCoy, Hewlett-Packard‘s (NYSE:HPQ[6]) Meg Whitman, Laura Lang who heads Time Warner‘s (NYSE:TWX[7]) Time Inc., IBM‘s (NYSE:IBM[8]) Ginni Rometty, Rosalind Brewer from Wal-Mart (NYSE:WMT[9]) subsidiary Sam’s Club, and Maria das Gracas Silva Foster of Brazil’s Petrobras.

The highest-ranking businesswoman on the list is Facebook (NASDAQ:FB[10]) COO Sheryl Sandberg (pictured above). While Sandberg may not officially run the world’s largest social media outlet, the fact that she’s been a game-changer for the company goes without question.

Here’s a quick look at the ten women who topped Forbes list of powerful women.

  1. Angela Merkel[11]: Chancellor, Germany
  2. Hillary Clinton[12]: Secretary of State, U.S.
  3. Dilma Rousseff[13]: President, Brazil
  4. Melinda Gates[14]: Co-Chair, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
  5. Jill Abramson[15]: Executive Editor, New York Times Co.
  6. Sonia Gandhi[16]: President, Indian National Congress, India
  7. Michelle Obama[17]: First Lady, U.S.
  8. Christine Lagarde[18]: Managing Director, International Monetary Fund
  9. Janet Napolitano[19]: Secretary, Department of Homeland Security, U.S.
  10. Sheryl Sandberg[20]: COO, Facebook

See the complete list of The World’s 100 Most Powerful Women[21] at Forbes.com.

Endnotes:
  1. [Image]: http://investorplace.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/Sheryl-Sandberg.jpg
  2. The World’s 100 Most Powerful Women: http://www.forbes.com/power-women/
  3. relatively new chiefs: http://www.forbes.com/sites/carolinehoward/2012/08/22/introducing-the-new-class-of-female-ceos/
  4. YHOO: http://studio-5.financialcontent.com/investplace/quote?Symbol=YHOO
  5. AVP: http://studio-5.financialcontent.com/investplace/quote?Symbol=AVP
  6. HPQ: http://studio-5.financialcontent.com/investplace/quote?Symbol=HPQ
  7. TWX: http://studio-5.financialcontent.com/investplace/quote?Symbol=TWX
  8. IBM: http://studio-5.financialcontent.com/investplace/quote?Symbol=IBM
  9. WMT: http://studio-5.financialcontent.com/investplace/quote?Symbol=WMT
  10. FB: http://studio-5.financialcontent.com/investplace/quote?Symbol=FB
  11. Angela Merkel: http://www.forbes.com/power-women/gallery
  12. Hillary Clinton: http://www.forbes.com/power-women/gallery/hillary-clinton#gallerycontent
  13. Dilma Rousseff: http://www.forbes.com/power-women/gallery/dilma-rousseff#gallerycontent
  14. Melinda Gates: http://www.forbes.com/power-women/gallery/melinda-gates#gallerycontent
  15. Jill Abramson: http://www.forbes.com/power-women/gallery/jill-abramson#gallerycontent
  16. Sonia Gandhi: http://www.forbes.com/power-women/gallery/sonia-gandhi#gallerycontent
  17. Michelle Obama: http://www.forbes.com/power-women/gallery/michelle-obama#gallerycontent
  18. Christine Lagarde: http://www.forbes.com/power-women/gallery/christine-lagarde#gallerycontent
  19. Janet Napolitano: http://www.forbes.com/power-women/gallery/janet-napolitano#gallerycontent
  20. Sheryl Sandberg: http://www.forbes.com/power-women/gallery/sheryl-sandberg#gallerycontent
  21. The World’s 100 Most Powerful Women: http://TheWorld

Source URL: http://investorplace.com/2012/08/meet-the-10-most-powerful-women-in-the-world/
Short URL: http://invstplc.com/1nwmTqF