Woman’s Errand Wins Her $85 Million

by Angela Nazworth | August 3, 2012 9:07 am

Woman’s Errand Wins Her $85 Million

Mega Millions logo Womans Errand Wins Her $85 Million  [1]Staten Island, N.Y., resident Jin Ok Choi went to a store to purchase a bottle of wine last month and decided to pick up Mega Millions ticket while she was there.

That simple errand ended up winning her $85 million!

Choi, 54, claimed her prize Wednesday and told New York Daily News[2] that she would like to use the money to buy a bigger condo and “upgrade her life.”

She chose to take a lump sum payout, which will amount to a little more than $40 million after taxes.

Seven other lottery winners in the NYC area were announced Wednesday, including Brooklyn cop William Sena, New York Daily reports.

Sena won $1 million from a scratch-off ticket. He told the newspaper he plans to use his winnings to start a college fund for his two-year-old daughter. He also plans to buy a new home.

More Fun Stories About Lottery Winners:

Endnotes:
  1. [Image]: http://investorplace.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/Mega_Millions_logo.png
  2. New York Daily News: http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/staten-islander-revealed-winner-85m-mega-millions-jackpot-article-1.1127381
  3. MIT Student Cracks Lottery Code: http://investorplace.com/2012/08/mit-student-cracks-lotto-code-starts-company-wins-millions/
  4. Mega Mess in Maryland Lottery Drawing: http://investorplace.com/2012/04/mega-mess-in-maryland-lottery-drawing/
  5. ‘Three Amigos’ to Share Mega Millions Win: http://investorplace.com/2012/04/three-amigos-to-share-mega-millions-win/
  6. Woman Wins Lottery Twice in One Day: http://investorplace.com/2012/04/woman-wins-lottery-twice-in-one-day/
  7. Quaker Oats Workers Win $241M Lottery: http://investorplace.com/2012/06/quaker-oats-workers-win-241m-lottery/

Source URL: http://investorplace.com/2012/08/womans-errand-wins-her-85-million/
Short URL: http://invstplc.com/1fsYeiq