Forbes: 2013′s Top 10 Billionaires

by Nate Wooley | March 4, 2013 11:58 am

Forbes: 2013′s Top 10 Billionaires

carlos slim helu 300x194 Forbes: 2013's Top 10 Billionaires[1]A Mexican investor in telecommunications is the world’s richest man for the fourth straight year.

American Movil (NYSE:AMX[2]) co-chairman Carlos Slim tops this year’s Forbes list of top billionaires.

Also sitting in the top ranks of the list are Microsoft‘s (NASDAQ:MSFT[3]) Bill Gates, Berkshire Hathaway‘s (NYSE:BRK.B[4]) Warren Buffett and Amancio Ortega of Spain. Forbes compiled the list using assets and discounting debts. The magazines makes the effort to confirm its figures with the men and women on the list but says that only some of them cooperate.

Here’s the top 10 billionaires[5]:

  1. Carlos Slim[6]: $73 billion
  2. Bill Gates[7]: $67 billion
  3. Amancio Ortega[8]: $57 billion
  4. Warren Buffett[9]: $53.5 billion
  5. Larry Ellison[10]: $43 billion
  6. Charles Koch[11]: $34 billion
  7. David Koch[12]: $34 billion
  8. Li Ka-Shing[13]: $31 billion
  9. Liliane Bettencourt & Family[14]: $30 billion
  10. Bernard Arnault[15]: $29 billion

The entire list can be viewed here[16].

More stories about the wealthy:

Endnotes:
  1. [Image]: http://investorplace.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/carlos-slim-helu.jpg
  2. AMX: http://studio-5.financialcontent.com/investplace/quote?Symbol=AMX
  3. MSFT: http://studio-5.financialcontent.com/investplace/quote?Symbol=MSFT
  4. BRK.B: http://studio-5.financialcontent.com/investplace/quote?Symbol=BRK.B
  5. top 10 billionaires: http://www.forbes.com/sites/luisakroll/2013/03/04/inside-the-2013-billionaires-list-facts-and-figures/
  6. Carlos Slim: http://www.forbes.com/pictures/mel45ghdi/carlos-slim-helu-2/
  7. Bill Gates: http://www.forbes.com/pictures/mel45ghdi/bill-gates-25/
  8. Amancio Ortega: http://www.forbes.com/pictures/mel45ghdi/amancio-ortega/
  9. Warren Buffett: http://www.forbes.com/pictures/mel45ghdi/warren-buffett-21/
  10. Larry Ellison: http://www.forbes.com/pictures/mel45ghdi/larry-ellison-14/
  11. Charles Koch: http://www.forbes.com/pictures/mel45ghdi/charles-koch/
  12. David Koch: http://www.forbes.com/pictures/mel45ghdi/david-koch-3/
  13. Li Ka-Shing: http://www.forbes.com/pictures/mel45ghdi/li-ka-shing-2/
  14. Liliane Bettencourt & Family: http://www.forbes.com/pictures/mel45ghdi/liliane-bettencourt-family/
  15. Bernard Arnault: http://www.forbes.com/pictures/mel45ghdi/bernard-arnault/
  16. The entire list can be viewed here: http://www.forbes.com/sites/luisakroll/2013/03/04/inside-the-2013-billionaires-list-facts-and-figures/
  17. Who’s the Richest Person in Your State?: http://investorplace.com/2012/10/whos-the-richest-person-in-your-state/
  18. Town Declines Date Site’s Offer of $11M to Change Its Name: http://investorplace.com/2013/02/town-declines-date-sites-11m-offer-to-change-its-name/
  19. Forget a Dating Service: Millionaire Puts Ad on a Billboard: http://investorplace.com/2012/12/forget-a-dating-service-millionaire-puts-ad-on-a-billboard/

Source URL: http://investorplace.com/2013/03/forbes-2013s-top-10-billionaires/
Short URL: http://invstplc.com/1dcmdOq