The Do-Not-Donate List: America’s 10 Worst Charities

by William White | June 21, 2013 3:00 pm

The Do-Not-Donate List: America’s 10 Worst Charities

Donating money to a charity doesn’t always mean that money is well spent.

TampaBayTimes[1] has released its list of America’s 50 worst charities to donate to.

Here are the top 10 from that list.

  1. Kids Wish Network[2]Sick children get less than 3 cents of every dollar raised.
  2. Cancer Fund of America[3]: $98 million in donations, less than $1 million in direct cash aid.
  3. Children’s Wish Foundation International[4]: $3.6 million spent on ill kids, $6 million paid to fundraisers.
  4. American Breast Cancer Foundation[5]: Paid its professional fundraisers close to 75 cents of every dollar made.
  5. Firefighters Charitable Foundation[6]: Pays its for-profit solicitors 90 cents of every dollar raised.
  6. Breast Cancer Relief Foundation[7]:Only a little more than 2% of donations raised were given to hospitals or cancer patients.
  7. International Union of Police Associations[8]: $57 million made in the last decade, only $28,000 a year spent on survivor benefits.
  8. National Veterans Service Fund[9]: Gives $500,000 a year to needy vets, but has made $70 million in the last 10 years.
  9. American Association of State Troopers[10]: In the past eight years, the average percentage of funds spent on direct aid to members has been about 9%.
  10. Children’s Cancer Fund of America[11]: Raised $110 million in the last three years, paid  more than $75 million to solicitors .

Go check out the 40 worst charities[12] that we didn’t include.

Endnotes:
  1. TampaBayTimes: http://www.tampabay.com/americas-worst-charities/?hpt=hp_t1
  2. Kids Wish Network: http://www.tampabay.com/americas-worst-charities/?hpt=hp_t1#kids-wish-network-inc
  3. Cancer Fund of America: http://www.tampabay.com/americas-worst-charities/?hpt=hp_t1#cancer-fund-of-america
  4. Children’s Wish Foundation International: http://www.tampabay.com/americas-worst-charities/?hpt=hp_t1#childrens-wish-foundation-international-inc
  5. American Breast Cancer Foundation: http://www.tampabay.com/americas-worst-charities/?hpt=hp_t1#american-breast-cancer-foundation-inc
  6. Firefighters Charitable Foundation: http://www.tampabay.com/americas-worst-charities/?hpt=hp_t1#firefighters-charitable-foundation
  7. Breast Cancer Relief Foundation: http://www.tampabay.com/americas-worst-charities/?hpt=hp_t1#breast-cancer-relief-foundation
  8. International Union of Police Associations: http://www.tampabay.com/americas-worst-charities/?hpt=hp_t1#international-union-of-police-associations-afl-ci
  9. National Veterans Service Fund: http://www.tampabay.com/americas-worst-charities/?hpt=hp_t1#national-veterans-service-fund-inc
  10. American Association of State Troopers: http://www.tampabay.com/americas-worst-charities/?hpt=hp_t1#american-association-of-state-troopers
  11. Children’s Cancer Fund of America: http://www.tampabay.com/americas-worst-charities/?hpt=hp_t1#childrens-cancer-fund-of-america-inc
  12. 40 worst charities: http://www.tampabay.com/americas-worst-charities/?hpt=hp_t1

Source URL: http://investorplace.com/2013/06/the-do-not-donate-list-americas-10-worst-charities/
Short URL: http://invstplc.com/1nsjVmV