Sochi Olympics News: Russia Blocks Chobani Yogurt Shipment

by William White | February 7, 2014 2:26 pm

Sochi Olympics News: Russia Blocks Chobani Yogurt Shipment

Russia has blocked a shipment of 5,000 cups of Chobani yogurt[1] for U.S. athletes in Sochi.

chobani Sochi Olympics News: Russia Blocks Chobani Yogurt Shipment[2]According to The Los Angeles Times, the shipment was blocked by Russia because the proper paperwork wasn’t filled out. The blocked yogurt has become a topic for late-night shows to poke fun at and Sen. Charles Schumer of New York is calling for Russia to allow the shipment of Chobani yogurt. Schumer claims that the paperwork needed to send the yogurt is ridiculous since it’s only going to be eaten by U.S. athletes.

The Russian Embassy[3] released the following statement concerning the Chobani yogurt blockade.

“Up to date the U.S. Department of Agriculture, despite a long history of talks, has not negotiated with the veterinary agency of the Customs Union’s countries, the approval of a veterinary certificate to export U.S. milk and dairy products to its territory. Naturally, a common sanitary certificate for such products, issued by the corresponding agencies of U.S. Department of Agriculture, by no means cannot substitute an approved veterinary certificate.”

A spokeswoman for the USDA said that the organization is working to have the shipment of Chobani yogurt approved and sent off[4].

More Winter Olympics News

Endnotes:
  1. 5,000 cups of Chobani yogurt: http://www.latimes.com/business/money/la-fi-mo-chobani-sochi-olympics-russia-20140207,0,6299504.story#axzz2sYryetzz
  2. [Image]: http://investorplace.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/chobani.jpg
  3. Russian Embassy: http://www.russianembassy.org/article/regarding-the-issue-of-u-s-yogurt-import-into-russia-commentary-of-the-federal-service-for-a
  4. working to have the shipment of Chobani yogurt approved and sent off: http://www.politico.com/story/2014/02/chobani-yogurt-olympics-103227.html
  5. Winter Olympics Opening Ceremony 2014: Time? Date? Network?: http://investorplace.com/2014/02/winter-olympics-opening-ceremony-2014/#.UvUlZmJdWSo
  6. 5 Biggest Sochi Olympics Fails: Twin Toilets, Gross Hotels and More: http://investorplace.com/2014/02/sochi-olympics/#.UvT2KGJdWSo
  7. Sochi Winter Olympics 2014: Shaun White Pulls Out of Slopestyle Event: https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CDoQqQIwAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Finvestorplace.com%2F2014%2F02%2Fsochi-winter-olympics-2014-shaun-white%2F&ei=ncfzUve8O42CogTopoDwCA&usg=AFQjCNGswDXQQYwbQ7ZF8BA9myC4DHrC1Q&sig2=VAfl-LoabNi2LytihDeKkA&bvm=bv.60983673,d.cGU&cad=rja
  8. Lindsey Vonn Withdraws From 2014 Winter Olympics: http://investorplace.com/2014/01/2014-winter-olympics-lindsey-vonn/
  9. Yahoo, NBC Sign Digital Deal for 2014 Winter Olympics: http://investorplace.com/2013/12/yahoo-nbc-sign-digital-deal-2014-winter-olympics/
  10. Ralph Lauren Opening Ceremony Uniforms for 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics: http://investorplace.com/2014/01/ralph-lauren-winter-olympics/#.UvJqDGJdWSo
  11. PHOTO: Twitter Titters Over Sochi Olympics Twin Toilets Fail: http://investorplace.com/2014/01/photo-twitter-titters-sochi-olympics-twin-toilets-fail/#.UvJqJ2JdWSo
  12. Sochi Olympics Terror Threat Deemed a Hoax: https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=8&ved=0CH0QFjAH&url=http%3A%2F%2Finvestorplace.com%2F2014%2F01%2Fsochi-olympics-terror-threat-deemed-hoax%2F&ei=w2nyUs6XI43soATHloLAAg&usg=AFQjCNFkT2WYO25bE_q8XX_Mvo4zMLwmng&sig2=EMz8rwMPE7an5kt_hrntkA&bvm=bv.60799247,d.cGU&cad=rja
  13. U.S. Includes Gay Athletes in Russian Olympics Delegation: http://investorplace.com/investorpolitics/u-s-includes-gay-athletes-russian-olympics-delegation/#.UvJqYmJdWSo
  14. Sochi Winter Olympics Warning: Toothpaste Tube Bombs: http://investorplace.com/2014/02/sochi-winter-olympics-toothpaste-tube-bombs/#.UvT1_2JdWSo

Source URL: http://investorplace.com/2014/02/chobani-yogurt-sochi-olympics/
Short URL: http://invstplc.com/1o1FACP