University of Maryland Data Breach: 300K Personal Records Hacked

by Karl Utermohlen | February 20, 2014 12:28 pm

University of Maryland Data Breach: 300K Personal Records Hacked

The University of Maryland was the latest victim of a data breach as over 300,000 personal records were compromised earlier this week.

University of Maryland 300x190 University of Maryland Data Breach: 300K Personal Records Hacked[1]
Source: Flickr[2]

The security breach[3] took place on Tuesday at about 4 a.m. Hackers were able to collect the personal information of 309,079 faculty, staff and students. The attackers tapped into a database that includes anyone who’s gotten a University of Maryland identification card since 1998.

The University of Maryland’s vice president and chief information officer said that the information includes names, social security numbers, dates of birth and university identification numbers. He added that the attackers did not change any of the information but they did make a copy of it.

Authorities are currently investigating the matter which is considered to be a sophisticated attack considering how secure the University of Maryland’s network is.

More Data Breach News

Endnotes:
  1. [Image]: http://investorplace.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/University-of-Maryland.jpg
  2. Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/allaboutuni/3829632856/sizes/o/
  3. security breach: http://www.washingtonpost.com/local/college-park-shady-grove-campuses-affected-by-university-of-maryland-security-breach/2014/02/19/ce438108-99bd-11e3-80ac-63a8ba7f7942_story.html
  4. Kickstarter Data Breach: http://investorplace.com/2014/02/kickstarter-data-breach/#.UwY64YVtqF8
  5. Target Data Breach Much Worse Than Reported: http://investorplace.com/2014/01/tgt-stock-target-data-breach/#.UwOwEoVtqF8
  6. Barclays Data Breach: http://investorplace.com/2014/02/barclays-data-breach-bcs-stock/#.UwOwGYVtqF8
  7. Neiman Marcus Data Breach: http://investorplace.com/2014/01/neiman-marcus-data-breach/#.UwOwGoVtqF8
  8. Hotel Data Breach: http://investorplace.com/2014/02/hotel-data-breach-marriott-hilton-sheraton-others-affected/#.UwOwG4VtqF8
  9. FBI Warns More Retail Data Breach Attacks Are Coming: http://investorplace.com/2014/01/fbi-data-breach/#.UwOwIoVtqF8

Source URL: http://investorplace.com/2014/02/university-of-maryland-data-breach/
Short URL: http://invstplc.com/1meqYOo