May 30, 2013 at 3:55 pm

Forum_Admin

I never understand the inverse relationship between the market and gold. It seems to me that when the market is going up, gold should go down as investors gain more confidence. Does that make sense to anyone else?

“Everyone must choose two pains: The pain of discipline, or the pain of regret.” Jim Rohn

June 3, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Forum_Admin

Have a look at this. I’m no expert, but supposedly gold really hasn’t acted as the hedge it’s touted to be, especially this spring.

http://investorplace.com/2013/05/gold-just-isnt-worth-the-risk/

Trader’s Talk Moderator Account

June 3, 2013 at 4:20 pm

Forum_Admin

“Have a look at this. I’m no expert, but supposedly gold really hasn’t acted as the hedge it’s touted to be, especially this spring.

http://investorplace.com/2013/05/gold-just-isnt-worth-the-risk/

Thanks – guess I’m not the only one thrown by gold’s antics this year.

“Everyone must choose two pains: The pain of discipline, or the pain of regret.” Jim Rohn

June 22, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Trader

This is an extension to a post that I responded to about the US dollar predicting the market.

The value of gold is currency related. The value of the US dollar increased about 17% this year (prior to recent correction). Thus the relative price of gold has gone down because of the increased buying power of the dollar. Of course there are other factors that have pushed the price of gold down more than 17% this year, but the currency appreciation is a fairly large portion of it at this point.

Buzz339

July 4, 2013 at 5:16 am

Trader