The Dow hits an incremental high amid rising volatility >>> READ MORE

Hawaii Becomes Next State to Allow Gay Marriage

The bill was passed with a vote of 19 to 4


NewLettersHawaii is set to become the next state to allow gay marriage.

Hawaii’s Senate passed a bill Tuesday that will allow gay marriage. The bill now only needs to be signed by the state’s governor, Neil Abercrombie. Abercrombie has shown his support for gay marriage in the past and has already promised that he will sign the bill into law. The bill was passed by Hawaii Senators with a vote of 19 to 4 and it’s expected to go into effect on December 2. The new bill now puts Hawaii in the same situation as Illinois, which is also waiting for a bill allowing same-sex marriage to be signed by the state’s governor, reports USA Today.

“By giving loving gay and lesbian couples the right to marry if they choose, Hawaii exemplifies the values we hold dear as a nation,” President Barack Obama told Reuters.

There are currently 14 states that allow gay marriage. These states are:

  • Massachusetts
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Iowa
  • Vermont
  • New Hampshire
  • New York
  • Washington
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Rhode Island
  • Delaware
  • Minnesota
  • New Jersey

The opinions contained in this column are solely those of the writer.
Want to share your own views on money and politics? Drop us a line at and we might reprint your views in our InvestorPolitics blog! Please include your name, city and state of residence. All letters submitted to this address will be considered for publication.

More Gay Marriage News

NJ Becomes 14th State to Recognize Gay Marriage

UK Set to Legalize Gay Marriage

New IRS Ruling Acknowledges Married Gay Couples Nationwide

Article printed from InvestorPlace Media,

©2017 InvestorPlace Media, LLC