Wednesday's hot stocks: AMD, KO, X >>> READ MORE

Obama Establishes Five New National Monuments

The administration has been assailed for weak land protection


Washington DC Washington MonumentThe list of U.S. national monuments now includes five new sites. The additions were made by President Barack Obama on Monday.

Environmentalists have criticized the administration for failing to protect public wild lands from development. Bruce Babbitt, who served as Interior Secretary under President Bill Clinton, remarked earlier this year that federal national monument and wilderness designations under President Obama trailed those of other recent presidents, the Los Angeles Times noted.

The Antiquities Act grants the president the power to designate areas as national monuments, which protects them from development.

Here are the five new national monuments established by President Obama:

  1. Rio Grand National Monument in New Mexico.
  2. San Juan Islands National Monument in Washington.
  3. Charles Young Buffalo Soldiers National Monument in Ohio.
  4. First State National Monument in Delaware.
  5. Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad National Monument in Maryland.

The opinions contained in this column are solely those of the writer.

Want to share your own views on money and politics? Drop us a line at and we might reprint your views in our InvestorPolitics blog! Please include your name, city and state of residence. All letters submitted to this address will be considered for publication.

Article printed from InvestorPlace Media,

©2017 InvestorPlace Media, LLC