Arab Nations Extend Qatar Deadline

A group of four Arab nations have extended the Qatar deadline.

Arab Nations Extend Qatar DeadlineThe extended Qatar deadline gives the country 48 hours to comply with demands made by the group. The group behind the demands is made up of Saudi Arabia, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates and Bahrain.

Here are the demands that the Arabs nations want to be met by the end of the Qatar deadline.

  • Shutting down the Al Jazeera news network.
  • Closing a Turkish military base in the country.
  • Reducing its diplomatic relationship with Iran.
  • Cutting connections to the Muslim Brotherhood.
  • Don’t allow naturalization of citizens from Saudi Arabia, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates and Bahrain.
  • Deport citizens from the previously-mentioned countries that are already living in Qatar.
  • Hand over terrorists in Qatar that are from Saudi Arabia, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates and Bahrain.
  • No longer fund extremist groups that are considered terrorists by the United States.
  • The demands also include have Qatar provide details on opposition individuals that it has funded.
  • Alter its economics and politics to align with the Gulf Co-operation Council’s policies.
  • Stop the funding other other news sources.
  • Pay an amount that has yet to be specified as compensation.

“Qatar is not an easy country to be swallowed by anyone,” Khalid bin Mohammed al-Attiyah, Qatar’s Defense Minister told ABC News. “We are ready. We stand ready to defend our country. I hope that we don’t come to a stage where, you know, a military intervention is made.”

The opinions contained in this column are solely those of the writer.
Want to share your own views on money and politics? Drop us a line at and we might reprint your views in our InvestorPolitics blog! Please include your name, city and state of residence. All letters submitted to this address will be considered for publication.


Article printed from InvestorPlace Media,

©2021 InvestorPlace Media, LLC