Facebook says that it is switching the default Facebook privacy setting for new users to “Friends,” meaning that information posted on Facebook pages will only shared with other users specified as “Friends” by the poster. Facebook privacy settings formerly had a “Public” default setting for new posts, meaning that the information was visible to anyone on Facebook.
A reminder to select Facebook privacy settings will be made visible to first-time posters, but the default setting will be “Friends” from now on.
Facebook also says it will introduce a “new and expanded privacy checkup tool” over the coming weeks. The new tool will guide users “through a few steps to review things like who they’re posting to, which apps they use, and the privacy of key pieces of information on their profile.”
The social media platform noted that the Facebook privacy setting change and expanded privacy checkup tool are aimed at helping “people make sure they are sharing with just the audience they want.”
FB stock rose modestly in Thursday morning trading. On Wednesday, FB stock closed at $60.49 per share.
More Facebook News: